The Knights of Rhiassa
Members and History of the Order

The Knights of Rhiassa is one of the older in-character knighthoods in the Realms, though certainly not the oldest. Its origins are from Old Rhiassa, but its history in the Realms starts with the Knighting of Sir Cedric - Duncan's first squire - at Feast of Rhiassa VI in 998.

Sir Duncan's second squire, Da'oud, was knighted at Feast of Rhiassa VIII in 1002. Only a few years later, Da'oud became the Lord of Rhiassa and had also been knighted by the Knights of the Eternal Flame.

Duncan's third squire, Aeston, was brought into the Knights of Rhiassa in 1008 after his induction into the Knights of the Eternal Flame. He has since become the second Rhiassan to become a Knight of the Realms and became the third lord of Rhiassa in 1010.

Aeston's first squire, Symir, was knighted in 1012. Through the course of several years, Symir rose from a common rank and file soldier to one of the leaders of Rhiassa, becoming as well an invaluable part of the country's eventholding team.

Da'oud's first squire, Areni, was knighted in 1013. During the course of her squireship, Areni had grown into several vital roles in Rhiassa, not the least of which were running the war maneuver fields and non-combat competitions at Queen of Hearts; greatly promoting the fairness and competitiveness of the latter.

Aeston's second squire, Kyntela, was also knighted in 1013. Kyntela had become an invaluable member of Rhiassa's event holding team, taking major roles in the execution of every event. Beyond even that, however, she had relaunched and lead the Huntress Guild, a group that promotes the institution of female fighters in the community.

Aeston's third squire, Gwen, was knighted in 1015. From the very beginning of her time as a squire, Gwen had pushed herself to become one of the leaders of the nation. She had taken the reins of the Leviathan kitchen, propelling the event to new levels of excellence, and had stepped up to vital roles in all of Rhiassa's event holding endeavors. She was an inspiration to all other Rhiassans as they witnessed her dedication and drive.

Aeston's fourth squire, Taliea, was knighted in 1017. Taliea possessed a strong desire to make an indelible mark on Rhiassa and on the Realms, and there is no doubt that she succeeded. She rekindled the Adventurers Guild, a storied organization that ran questing content at many occasions. But even greater than that achievement were the countless ways Rhiassa came to rely on her selflessness. Her tireless efforts to help the nation with its many projects were the epitome of what it means to be a knight.

Kyntela's first squire, Ellith, was knighted in 1018. Ellith was the first squire of her generation to be bestowed the title of knight, the beginning of the fourth generation of the Knights of Rhiassa. Ellith was as industrious and as hardworking as a squire as anyone before her. Possessed by a desire to learn and to grow and to make the efforts of Rhiassa better through her involvement. In an effort to better crafting in the Realms, Ellith also founded a group based on using new technologies and materials and training others in their use as well.

Areni's first squire, Kyro, was knighted in 1020. Kyro's most noteworthy quality was how much he possessed the soul of a knight in everything that he did. He, without either boast or complaint, humbly sought out the jobs that needed to be done and accomplished all of them in turn, not the least of which was building the Gilded Lion Carnival which had become a staple of Feast of the Leviathan. His work ethic and his tireless dedication to Rhiassa's goals became a foundation on which all of the nation's endevors could be built.

Squirings generally take at least three years, sometimes longer, and are considered to be both in and out of character. The duty of trying to teach a squire what it means to be a knight is one of the most sacred duties anyone in our nation can undertake and a such it is taken very seriously.

The Knights of Rhiassa wear a distinctive red belt with a black lion insignia embossed into the end of the belt. When first began, historically, the embossing was a method that had not often been seen in leatherworking in the Realms and still is rare on knight's belts.

There are a number of notable things about the Knights of Rhiassa. One of them is the induction ceremony. In addition to having to swear an oath, the Knight is actually slain and raised from the dead as a part of the process. The idea is that they die a squire to be essentially reborn as a knight.

From very humble origins, the Knights of Rhiassa have grown now to an organization with several knights and several squires who are walking the path towards knighthood. Growth is slow because of the many years of time and effort put into training our squires but it has become steady, and the future of our knighthood shines brightly with the promise of all that we can accomplish in these realms.

The Knightly Tenets of the
Knights of Rhiassa

Yours is the claw of the lion; Your might protects the people and the lands of Rhiassa, wield it with a noble hand.

Yours is the gaze of the lion; Your wisdom ensures that these remain just and righteous lands, weigh your decisions well.

Yours is the hide of the lion; Your resolution is an inspiration to those around you, hold fast to your beliefs.

Yours is the shoulder of the lion; Your tasks and burdens benefit the whole of the community, bear them with pride.

Yours is the roar of the lion; Your voice commands the respect of warrior and gentry alike, speak always with sincerity.

The Lineage of the
Knights of Rhiassa